Venice, Florida

Our week-long vacation to sunny Florida was awesome. I hope you enjoy the pictures I took… there was so much more that I missed photographing. But if I had been more crazy about taking pictures, I would have missed out on some of the peaceful enjoyment. πŸ˜€ So I’m happy with the memories I captured… the rest are etched in my mind or scribbled in my journal.

Beach fun

Top left… my lunch on the ride down. We ate so well the whole trip. Mama packed everything we’d need to eat for the whole week into a cooler that we lugged along… and we picked up some extra juice and snacks while we were near a Publix. (I miss Publix. There are none around our house in Georgia.) Anyways! We strolled on the beach, collected lots of shells… That’s the boardwalk we tramped across to get from the ferry to the beach. We brought along a tent to keep us shaded on the long, relaxing afternoons by the shore. πŸ˜€

We had so much fun. The boys built several big castles/forts/sand sculptures while we were there, and I made a sand heap covered in shells with an impressive trench around it… and then neglected to get even ONE picture of it. *facepalm* Oh well. πŸ˜‰ We enjoyed the hot tub while we were there! (excuse the randomocity of these pictures, they are not in order…)

Venice Jetty

Well, the above collage is organized. It’s from the evening we went down to the jetty and took pictures… it’s a long asphalt ‘dock’ stretching out into Venice Harbor, with ocean on either side… very pretty spot. We saw dolphins, pelicans diving for fish, and many other seabirds while we were down there. People were fishing off the end of the jettyΒ and climbing around on the rocks. The waves crashed against the sides of the rockΒ pierΒ and the wind was whipping our hair. Gorgeous.

Top left, Sand & Shell spiral! Sand-dribble castle. The whole gang. (L-R, Steven, Charlie, Cody, Mark, Yours Truly, Sadie, Taylor, and Summer.) It was so muchΒ fun having friends come along on this trip with us! In the bottom right photo, everybody is sifting through handfuls (or frisbee-fuls, I used a frisbee like I was panning for gold) to search for shark’s teeth. We found a whole bunch!

(That sign in the top left corner greeted us at the ferry boardwalk.) Shopping in the downtown Venice tourist-trap gift shops was such fun! The only things I bought were salt-water taffy and a few special shells, but there was so much to look at! We also did a lot of shopping at the HUGE Good-will, the Good-will bookstore, and Jo-Ann fabrics, picking up some amazing deals. I found some cute clothes, about eight VHS videos of some nice old movies, and a peach Liz Claiborne purse for $6. *SCORE* πŸ˜€

Oh yeah, you know SURVIVORMAN wasn’t going to be left behind on this trip. He stowed away yet again… and enjoyed the salty breezes very much. πŸ˜‰ Survivorman is a family joke. These pictures are from the evening the dads took me, Mark, Cody, Summer, and Sadie to the Manasota beach. While they fished, we took pictures, found even more shark’s teeth, and ran races down the beach.

Yup. It was a ton of fun. πŸ˜€ The sunset-tinted sky was breathtaking. I got some nice self-portraits while I was chillin’ by the sea… Mark kindly took that one in the middle for me.

More random shots, anyone? πŸ˜‰

Yeah…….. a lot of time was spent on the laptops in Grandma’s living room. (When we weren’t at the beach, or watching the Olympics, that is.)Β That spotΒ was also where the girls slept at night… the guys all camped out in the den area, and the two sets of parents each got one of the two bedrooms. It was cozy! πŸ˜€

^ There’s some great shots of the Banyan trees for you! I can’t believe how huge they are.

Sand Castles, sunglasses, a sand-man. That heron hung around, hoping the fishermen would toss him a goodie or two. Steven and Charlie enjoyed boogie-boarding!

There’s the ferry we rode to the private beach most days.

One evening the parents all went to Manasota beach, and I tagged along and took a bunch of selfies. I also photographed the sunset in all the modes on my camera I could think of. πŸ˜€

And boy, did I wear that pair of flip-flops a lot. It was the only pair I’d brought that were really waterproof… so they were my beach shoes. πŸ™‚

How fitting to cap off the post with sunset pictures. πŸ™‚

It was a wondrous vacation – I am so glad it all worked out and that we were able to go. It was a blessing and I really enjoyed myself.

Perhaps we’ll go back to the beach again. πŸ™‚

About Julia

I love color and sparkle. My God has created so many beautiful things in this world! Designing jewelry, capturing photos, dancing, singing, loving, laughing, creating, are the things I enjoy most. I write, crochet, and read, and find something lovely in every day.
This entry was posted in Travelings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Venice, Florida

  1. Oh my!! πŸ˜€ *claps hands in glee* I don’t think I’ve so enjoyed a long picture-post! Is that WordPress making these lovely collage’s or did you do that on a picture program?

    Such fun times you all had! I feel more relaxed just having **looked** at all your relaxing beachy pictures. *giggles* ;D Haha, and I think your Survivorman is just hilarious…glad he could get a vacation too!

    OOOOOHHHhhhhh!!!!!! The stores look amazing! A giant good-will…exciting! πŸ˜€

    Thank you for sharing all your lovely, amazing, beautiful, spectacular pictures with us Julia dear! πŸ™‚ But I’m so glad you’re back home now because I missed you while you were gone. {{{Hugs}}}

    ~Rachel~

    • Julia says:

      Hi Rachel!
      So glad you enjoyed the photos! Nope, that was me… it’s a picture program called “Photoscape”, and it’s free! Rachelle actually introduced me to it… I love it but had forgotten about it for a while. πŸ™‚
      You are most welcome, and I’m so happy to be home again! πŸ™‚
      Hugs!
      ~Julia

  2. Rachelle says:

    Julia, what a talented Photoscaper you are! Splendid collages! I enjoyed peering at each and every one! Too bad that you couldn’t get a picture of the trench-creation. πŸ™‚ Oh, well, I believe you. The pictures you did capture were amazing. πŸ™‚

    • Julia says:

      Why thank you, Rachelle! πŸ™‚ Yup, you’ll have to take my word for it, it was amazing. *sigh* Next time I’ll do better at taking pictures. πŸ˜€ But thanks! We had a great time. πŸ™‚ Nice to be back home again. πŸ™‚

  3. younghomemakers says:

    Oh, I shall have to check into it! πŸ˜€ I can always use some more help getting my photos to look nice. 😦

  4. Shannon says:

    What lovely photos, capturing the joys of family time and delighting in the sweet summer time. I am glad that your visit to my home state was a wonderful time… those beaches are so captivating, aren’t they? πŸ™‚

    Praising God with you!

    Blessings,
    ~Shannon~

Hi! Would you like to tell me what you thought?

