A Hop, a Skip, and a Jump

Good afternoon, world! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve had a really busy weekend, and as a result, Monday feels sort of surreal. ๐Ÿ˜› I put on a pair of comfortable sweat pants and gave myself permission to relax for the day. So far I’ve spent most of it browsing my Pinterest boards. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Saturday, my Mama and I went running errands in town and walked all the way through the super Wal-Mart. Whew. By the time we got back to the house I was bushed. Then we had an Ultimate Frisbee game and I ran around like crazy – then spent the evening playing games and talking and laughing. Dropped into bed exhausted. Got up Sunday morning early to get to church in time to practice the bass guitar a little bit before the service began – Oh, and since the sweet lady who usually sings the soprano melody line on the worship team wasn’t there this week, I ended up singing in her place while I played the bass to three songs I’d never played before – thenย after church I drove myself and my brother Mark home, (He’d accompanied me while the rest of the family rested at home this week) and did some housework.

Today my stiff muscles are complaining. But I’ve told them to shake it off and be quiet. ๐Ÿ˜€

So! After that dull account of what I’ve been tiring myself at, how about some more dancing videos? I think these are the only other ‘good’ ones we got… enjoy!

First, The Virginia Reel! Which of course everybody knows. ๐Ÿ˜€ Please ignore ourย fumbles. Itย was a frolicking,ย crazy, very fun dance. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m dancing with my brother Mark in this video.

The Grand March: (We actually did this first to start off the ball… it’s a way to honor the host and the hostess, in this case Mr. and Mrs. C.) ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, and if you’re interested in learning some of these dances yourself, there’s a great youtube channel with some demo videos that show you how they work. Check it out! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a wonderful week!

About Julia

I love color and sparkle. My God has created so many beautiful things in this world! Designing jewelry, capturing photos, dancing, singing, loving, laughing, creating, are the things I enjoy most. I write, crochet, and read, and find something lovely in every day.
This entry was posted in It Was Amazing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Hop, a Skip, and a Jump

  1. Rachel says:

    Looks like lots of fun, Julia! ๐Ÿ™‚ You all dance the VA reel a little slower than I’m accustomed to doing it, but the movements are the same! (Our dancing is technically Civil War dancing so we dance to hillbilly songs like “Cotton-eyed Joe,” “Sawin’ on a String,” “Turkey in the Straw,” etc. Your version is pretty though–keeps everyone from clod-hopping. ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. allsgrace says:

    Ha ha! The Grand March cracked me up! : D : D good times!

  3. Julia says:

    Rachel,
    Twas the best of fun! I can’t wait for next month! ๐Ÿ™‚ The hillbilly songs sound dandy. ๐Ÿ˜€ Clod-hopping or otherwise. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Allison,
    LOL! We had no idea what we were doing and we didn’t have enough people to do the whole 16-across ending, so we sort of split up haphazardly and wound up in a circle, going right into Carolina Promenade after that. ๐Ÿ˜€ Fun! I hope you can be at the next one! ๐Ÿ˜€

Hi! Would you like to tell me what you thought?

