30 Days #7 – Sherlock

SPOILER WARNING! There. 😀 Really. Don’t look at these pictures if you don’t want to know anything beforehand about the show. I won’t give anything extremely vital away, but this post will be riddled (pardon the pun) with inside jokes. (Sorry this post is late, today. It’s a whopper.) 🙂

Day 7 – Share about a TV show you’re currently enjoying:

One word.

SHERLOCK.

Before I say anything praising this television show, you need to know where I’m coming from. I love the original Sherlock Holmes novels written by none other than Sir Arthur Conan Doyle… I own two copies of the complete works. In other words, I’m well-versed in all things Holmes.

This “updated” version is set in the present. And I do mean present. It’s ultra-modern and chock-full of smartphones, high-tech labs and forensics teams, and everything has been translated seamlessly into London as we know it, today.

But the essence of Sherlock Holmes is there. The observation and deduction and mind-blowing smarts perfectly echo Doyle’s original, brilliant creation. But it’s contemporary, in OUR world. Totally cool. So! On to discussing it!

First, I didn’t think I was going to like this show. I mean, come on. A modern Sherlock Holmes? The very idea grates on my mind.

But I liked it. I LOVED it.

Sherlock Holmes was originally written to a contemporary audience. All that stuff about carriages and top hats and gloves and paper boys and everything the time period contained was happening right THEN. The readers had a Holmes that was moving and breathing and solving baffling crimes in their world. Now we have the same privilege. Watching a brilliant detective use Holmes’ methods in our time and our technology. And it is awesome.  

I have to say, I didn’t expect Benedict Cumberbatch to be as ‘great’ of a Sherlock Holmes as he is. He doesn’t look like how I think Sherlock Holmes would. But the man can act! I love his acting. He acts so well, he makes me completely believe he’s Sherlock. Plus, to prepare for the role, guess what he did? He read the books. *fist-pump*

Job well done, Sir! 😀

John Watson as played by Martin Freeman is totally believable, a heartwarming character. He is intelligent, he is loyal, even charming. Brave. Man of action. He is everything the Watson of the book is. I can hardly stomach the adaptations of Holmes that portray Watson as some kind of bumbling buffoon who is only there to provide comic relief (as, sadly, the famous Basil Rathbone/Nigel Bruce team did)

A Trusty Comrade is Always Of Use

They make the perfect team!

Fun fact: in this show, Watson writes a blog about their cases. And I found it. Here. How COOL is that? The titles of his posts echo the original titles of the Doyle stories… “A Study in Pink”, “The Speckled Blonde” “The Geek Interpreter”- though we didn’t see those last two in an episode. (I haven’t read all the posts yet, so I don’t know if there’s any inappropriate content, read at your own risk.)

That picture on the left –> is Sherlock looking over John’s shoulder at the blog.

Cue “danger music”! But in a weird key. Because this guy is odd. In a scary way.

What’s a mystery/adventure movie without a good villain, right? Moriarty enters the scene as a wacky guy with crazy facial expressions and oozes irritating childish-but-deadly “Nyah-nyah, I’m gonna kill you!” vibes. He’s a love-to-hate character that makes you laugh at him and loathe him at the same time. He doesn’t come in until the third episode of season one, but he’s hinted about and threatened of since the first case/episode.

Mycroft Holmes is played by John Dashwood (*cough*) I mean, Mark Gatiss, and he’s also one of the three writers of the show. I loved how they made his character in this series… he and Sherlock have a long-standing sibling rivalry and pretend to despise each other (especially on Sherlock’s side) And in this version, he is the British Government… “When he’s not being the Secret Service, or the CIA on a freelance basis.”

“Sherlock: “You noticed”. Molly: “I don’t count.” Sherlock: “You do count. You’ve always counted, and I’ve always needed you.”

An entirely new character they added, Molly Hooper, is one of my favorites. (Am I the only one hoping she and Sherlock will make a match of it in Season 3?) Sherlock treats her with disdain and contempt in the beginning but he started to warm up near the end of Season Two. She was always there for him, even when it seemed like he didn’t care if she existed or not.

<– AWWWWWWWWW. I love her. This scene is so precious. Sherlock realized she was really a nice person who cared about other people and noticed how they felt. She was sensitive to others’ feelings, something he was completely not. (I think they slightly overplayed his arrogance, for your info.)

While we’re on the topic of ladies…
Do NOT speak to me of Irene Adler at this time. *disgusted face*

Nah, you can speak of her, as long as you agree with my low opinion of how they changed her for the series. “The Woman” as Sherlock Holmes referred to her in the books, was supposedly the only clever person who could match wits with Holmes and for that reason she was the only female he ever cared two pins (or perhaps more) for. In the first episode of Season Two they attempt to share the stoy of her and Sherlock. While the rest of the episode was interesting and Sherlock as brilliant as ever, they added some shocking content and indecent themes. We used a pillow for quite a few of the scenes with Irene in them (To cover the screen)… While they didn’t actually show any ‘body parts’ onscreen, there’s a scene where it is painfully obvious that she isn’t wearing anything whatsoever. Double ICK.

Anywho! Rant over. 😀

MRS. HUDSON!

The supporting cast is great, especially Mrs. Hudson, Lestrade, and the annoying Scotland Yard crew (Who really all deserve their own pictures, had I the time to find and post them) I love the scene this photo of Mrs. Hudson refers to – She was frightened by some baddies and Sherlock ended up knocking around the main dude and throwing him out of a window in chivalrous retribution. ❤ LOL. Go Sherlock!

Mrs. Hudson is actually the ‘landlady’ in the show, not the housekeeper, but she makes ‘the boys’ a cuppa’ tea now and then, and checks on them and pops in and out of the flat now and then. She’s a dear. 😀

There’s 221b Baker Street! The locations are all really cool in these shows.

Sherlock still stabs his papers into the mantel, although the Turkish slipper has been replaced by a skull, which he apparently talked to before he had John to chat with.

The wrinkle of deduction. *giggle*

John’s expressions. He’s so great.

Just for fun… 🙂

John: “You’re bored, so you take it out on the wall?”
Sherlock: “The wall had it coming.”

*snicker* Guess who said THAT?

“One more miracle, Sherlock. Just for me. Don’t be dead.”
*weeping*

Heartbreak. Defined.

But don’t despair! For….

Okay. In the end of Season 2, Sherlock fakes his death. He’s alive! (But John doesn’t KNOWWWWW! *hysterical sobs*) But we don’t know how Sherlock did it. I can’t believe they’re filming the next part in 2013!! Let’s get that New Year here quick, people! 😉

Discussion, questions, whatzit, whatnot, are all welcome and eagerly solicited.

About Julia

I love color and sparkle. My God has created so many beautiful things in this world! Designing jewelry, capturing photos, dancing, singing, loving, laughing, creating, are the things I enjoy most. I write, crochet, and read, and find something lovely in every day.
This entry was posted in A Challenge, Artsy Photos, It Was Amazing, Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 30 Days #7 – Sherlock

  1. Rachel says:

    I can’t begin to fully describe the awesomeness of this post. Is it just my faulty memory, or did Daniel and I alert you to the amazing Sherlock series itself? I distinctly remember having a conversation about it at any rate. 😀 Oh–and for all that, I forgot to tell you: We were forwarned about the Adler Addle so we didn’t watch that episode…which means I missed some key moments. I’ve also never seen The Blind Baker. GAH! Gotta watch that! {But Daniel didn’t like it as well as the others.} Yeah, Moriarty is really creepy for the reason that he’s so childish and….lighthearted about it. 😛

    Watson is my hero.

    Molly is a lamb.

    Sherlock is just…Sherlock. ❤ "I'm in shock, see? I've got a blanket!" 😉

    • Julia says:

      Why thank you! Glad you liked it… it took forever to write! And YES, you and Daniel were the ones who first mentioned to us that it was good – I’d seen it elsewhere and saw pictures on Pinterest, etc, but we’d never had anybody we knew (or could trust the opinions of) tell us about it. 😀 (THANK YOU! I SHALL ADORE THE GROUND YOU TREAD UPON FROM THIS DAY HENCEFORTH…)
      It *is* possible to watch Scandal in Belgravia, if you’re ready with your pillow at hand. 😛 The Blind Banker wasn’t my favorite, a person died that I really wanted to live, and there was a frightening scene at the end involving Watson’s new girlfriend that I didn’t care for, and the plot just wasn’t as sharply amazing as the other episodes – but it is still worth watching, in my opinion. Creepy is the perfect word for Moriarty!
      Sherlock and the blanket at the end of Ep 1 had me laughing so hard.
      I hope they release Season 3 to instant download as soon as they air it!!! *sigh*

  2. Kiery says:

    *squee* I can’t believe you love Sherlock too!!!! GAH I LOVE IT SO MUCH. *Almost* as much as Doctor Who. ^.^

    • Julia says:

      I do love Sherlock! It’s mind-whirling! 🙂 Never seen Doctor Who, although I’ve heard it’s wildly complicated and wacky. 😀

      • Kiery says:

        It’s sci-fi and definitely mind-whirling, and written by the guy who writes Sherlock (Steven Moffat!). It’s amazing. Start with Season 5 (Matt Smith) if you want to find something to become mildly addicted to between seasons of Sherlock.

  3. Kiery says:

    (or not so mildly..)

  4. Julia says:

    Haha! It sounds interesting, although I usually don’t enjoy sci-fi. I’ll put it on my list of addictions to try when I get bored. 😉 (“Bored!” -BLAM- “Bored!” -BLAM- *shoots behind his back at the wall* “BORED.”)

  5. younghomemakers says:

    Hehe, Ah-ha…welcome to what I call, “Sherlock Fever” that has hit the nation. 😉 *giggles* I LOVE the books as well, but *hides behind a curtain* I’m not as big of a fan of the series as y’all are…or as my siblings are. 😉 I don’t go for creapy/scary/dark movies as much. *cue period drama film* 😀 I always wanted to play Mrs. Hudson in a play-acting scene or something…she’s my favorite. The thing I WILL say about this series is yes, Sherlock is totally awesome and if they hadn’t picked this actor I’d probably hate the whole thing. 😉 Lol. That quote about him thinking…SO me! I was roaring with laughter after that line so much the family had to pause the dvd. *cough* Bwahahahaaa!

Hi! Would you like to tell me what you thought?

