Smashed

Well, the plan was that Daddy and I were going up into town while he did some work-related errands and I picked up a few jewelry supply items and yarn that I needed to finish a couple projects.Then… we hit a deer.

This is the spot the deer hit, the front side. He (it was a BIG buck) bounced off and away. We’re thankful it didn’t come through the windshield!

Yup. The whole front corner is mushed. Mirror gone. Door doesn’t open properly. Daddy had to climb out the passenger door.

The windshield did not escape unscathed, however. In fact… it shattered. Thankfully it remained in one piece and didn’t come crashing in on us.

This is the first thing I saw after I yelled “Daddy, Daddy – deer!” The windshield cracked in one split second as soon as we heard a thunderous “WHUMP” upon impact.

Daddy and I are perfectly okay (besides being a little ‘shook up’), for which I am very grateful. We could have been hurt badly, hitting a deer that size. Daddy has joked that he’s cured of the idea of getting an economy-size car. πŸ˜›

Now comes the fun of getting the insurance worked outΒ and the collision repair work done. πŸ˜›

I think we’ll be heading back up to town a little later in the van. After we get home from that I’ll post my 30 Days challenge post for the day. πŸ™‚

‘Till then,

~Julia

About Julia

I love color and sparkle. My God has created so many beautiful things in this world! Designing jewelry, capturing photos, dancing, singing, loving, laughing, creating, are the things I enjoy most. I write, crochet, and read, and find something lovely in every day.
This entry was posted in Travelings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Smashed

  1. echoessilencepatienceandgrace says:

    Glad you’re alright!

  2. Rachel Heffington says:

    Ooodalolly! Did he die? Because you should totally get the boys to take that deer, skin it, and cut it up for venison! ‘Specially if he’s a big buck!

    • Julia says:

      HA-HA! Ooodalolly indeed (I love that version of Robin Hood that you borrowed that funny expression from!) – the deer was still alive as we were driving away (Daddy couldn’t stop, it was a busy rural highway. We turned off onto a side road about 50 yards away) but when we had to drive on that road later that day we saw it – or what we thought was it – on the side of the road, dead. Neither of us felt hungry for venison. πŸ˜›

  3. Allison says:

    Oh my gosh! What an impact! I’m glad ya’ll are ok!

  4. younghomemakers says:

    Oh Julia! Sweetie I am so thankful the Lord protected you and your father! :O {{Hugs}} How scary! Praying that everything works smoothly with the insurance…I know first-hand how rough that can be so you have lot’s of showers of prayers heading your way! πŸ™‚

    Love you!!
    ~Rachel~

  5. Lidia Maxine from HSA says:

    Praise the Lord you and your father were not injured!!! How terribly scary. Now I want a BIG truck instead of a little car.
    So, I have a question…. Did the deer make it?

    • Julia says:

      It WAS scary. I gasped a bit but I didn’t cry. But I think my face crumpled for a while there. 😦 Yeah, I’m reconsidering my dream of having a cute little aqua VW Bug… maybe something a little beefier would be better!
      The deer died shortly thereafter. Ugh. πŸ˜› I assume the buzzards had a feast. πŸ˜›

Hi! Would you like to tell me what you thought?

