My Computer-Free Month was Fun!

I never expected I’d actually enjoy not using my laptop for a month, but to my surprise, I certainly did. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hi Everybody! It’s great to be back! I’ve really missed blogging and hearing your responses.

So… what did I do while I was gone?

It’d be easier to tell you what I didn’t do. In using my free time for real-life activities rather than sitting in front of this screen for hours on end… I discovered how much life I was missing out on. I actually got my to-do lists done. Every day. I have never been able to do that before. ๐Ÿ™‚ And these were sizable to-do lists… at leastย 15 or 20ย items each.

But I didn’t just catch up on all my chores. I did some incredibly fun things as well.

I danced:

Dublin Bay:

Mr. Beveridge’s Maggot:

Irish Washerwoman:

I played Frisbee… We have had several games this past month, a couple of them with a bunch of people! One week fell close to my brother Steven’s birthday, so we celebrated with an after-game ‘party’ andย this candy corn cake I baked for him. He helped decorate it!

I helped my brothers start a blog: (I did their whole design, and I think it really reflects the personality of the blog… very cool.) ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve also been able to spend more time with my brothers. Whether it’s ping-pong or just chatting with themย while they work onย yet another astoundingย LEGOย creation, our quality time level has skyrocketed.

And I finished THIS: (if you’re interested in purchasing this lovely throw-size crocheted afghan for $200 + shipping, let me know…) ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m selling it in the Rescue Me Marketplace shop on the square in town.


I think it would make an adorable baby blanket for a boy OR girl. The colors are neutral in ivory, peach, and mint, with a hint of lime.

And… I am up to eight pounds lost so far on my healthier eating regime. I’ve also been walking a lot. Seven or eight times up our 1/8 of a mile uphill driveway every afternoon. That’s 2 miles a day. I’ve made a radical shift in so many areas, I feel like a whole new person.

But the best part?

I’ve been getting up in the mornings at 7AM and diving into the Word, and praying my heart out to the Lord. Every morning. I have never done that before, although in the back of my mind I always had a little niggling guilty thought that I should be reading my Bible more often. Now I am. I missed a few mornings after some unavoidable late nights… (Did anyone else watch the Presidential Debates?) but on the whole, it’s a whole new pattern of life.

And it has been so precious. I am so glad I’ve done this.

If you have been thinking about taking a break from your computer, or if you’ve never dreamed of it but suddenly realized how much time you spend just hanging out online… I heartily encourage you to take a break from it all. It doesn’t have to be a month… try it for a week, and see what it’s like. ๐Ÿ™‚ I highly recommend it.

Look for more posts from me coming soon… ๐Ÿ˜€

About Julia

I love color and sparkle. My God has created so many beautiful things in this world! Designing jewelry, capturing photos, dancing, singing, loving, laughing, creating, are the things I enjoy most. I write, crochet, and read, and find something lovely in every day.
This entry was posted in Crafted Creations, It Was Amazing, Movies, My God is Great and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Computer-Free Month was Fun!

  1. Lindsey says:

    I took the month of September off of the web, excepting 15 minutes for email a day. (It was necessary for some ministry/volunteer work.) I too, was blown away by how much time I had been wasting each day and how much I could accomplish without the laptop glued to my legs. 7AM finds me with my Bible now, and God has opened up a new list of things for me to do besides read blogs and browse pinterest. I’ve actually read several books! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Julia says:

      That sounds very similar to my own sabbatical, Lindsey! When I first read your comment I thought it was my friend Lindsay, but then I saw hers below – too funny. ๐Ÿ˜€ “how much I could accomplish without the laptop glued to my legs” – exactly.

  2. Lindsay says:

    I’m so glad you had a nice break, Julia! It sounds like you were *very* productive while you were away! I know what you mean – it’s amazing how much time we spend online! I felt the same way on our vacation. I left my laptop at home for that very reason, and it was wonderful (and actually pretty strange :P). I didn’t realize how much time I actually spent on the internet. Sometimes it’s good to just step back for awhile and take a break.

    Good to have you back though! I’ve missed you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    xoxo

    • Julia says:

      Thanks, Lindsay! I did have a nice break, all the more nice because I wasn’t really thinking it *would* be nice. But it was. ๐Ÿ™‚ And now it’s nice to be back. I’ll have to bop over and read your vacation post, it sounds like fun! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Rachel Heffington says:

    First off–the afghan baby-blanket thing is amazing.
    Second: I love candy corn.
    Third: I am so glad you enjoyed your month! I could tell you would, though I missed you terribly throughout!
    Fourth: It made me smile to read a post by you again. Love you, dearest Jewels!

    • Julia says:

      Thanks for your comment, Rachel! It’s great to be back and posting again. I love candy corn too… thankfully I haven’t overdosed on it yet! ๐Ÿ˜› Have a lovely Autumn!

  4. Katelyn S. says:

    So glad you enjoyed your sabbatical and got some things done. The afghan is SO cute! I wish I remembered how to crochet.

    • Julia says:

      Thank you, Katelyn! You should check out “200 Crochet Blocks for blankets, throws, and afghans” by Jan Eaton. That’s the best crochet book I’ve EVER read, and there are helpful illustrations in the back to teach you all the different stitches used in the book. ๐Ÿ™‚ I bought my copy on Amazon.

  5. Shiloh says:

    Do you have a pattern for this? Or did you make it up yourself?

    It is lovely!!!

    • Julia says:

      Thank you! I combined the block patterns and color combinations together myself, but I did follow patterns for the blocks from a great book – “200 crochet blocks for blankets, throws, and afghans” by Jan Eaton. The border pattern was from the book “Around the Corner Crochet Borders” by Edie Eckman. ๐Ÿ™‚ Great books, both!

  6. Joanna says:

    How great! Thanks for posting on your other blog and reminding me to hop over here. ๐Ÿ™‚ I dearly wish I could just drop the computer for a week but all of my school is on it (I’m doing CollegePlus) and my business is on it too. I am considering a media fast though. Constantly listening to music just doesn’t give my brain the needed space to process everything. So I think I’m going to try a music/movies/social networks/blogs fast and still keep up with school. ๐Ÿ™‚ We’ll see how that goes.

    That is so neat that you get to English Country Dance! I’ve only been to two before and then had it at my graduation party this past May. I need to find an excuse to throw another ball! The Irish Washerwoman looked especially fun.

  7. Miss Rachel says:

    Hey Julia love, it’s me! ;D I’m finally here looking through your blog posts now that everything is finally starting (a little) to settle down after our trip *and* the hurricane. Whew!

    Wow, have I told you what an amazing designer you are…yeah, think I have. *giggles* I’m just amazed by the beautiful afghan and the blog design you did for your brothers! God has gifted you my friend! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m happy to hear how God used your computer-free month and I pray things are still going well in this area for you. I agree with Rachel though…I missed you. ๐Ÿ˜‰ {Hugs}

    Talk to you soon sweetie! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Love!
    ~Rachel~

Hi! Would you like to tell me what you thought?

