Why I’m voting for Mitt Romney

I usually don’t get into politics at all. In other words – or as I like to say – I wouldn’t know a poli-tick if I met it in the street. 😉

But after reading and hearing some of the hype the media is spreading around, I felt like it would only be fair to do one post on my own little “soapbox” (this blog) and share my thoughts on the subject of our upcoming presidential election.

The last presidential election between Obama and McCain happened when I was 17-and-three-quarters, just shy of my birthday in April, so I was too young to vote. This year, I’m 21, and I’ll be voting alongside my 18-year-old brother Mark at the polls in our first presidential election together… which is kind of neat, I think. 🙂

Looking at it from the point of view of a person who nearly never involves themselves in politics, and without all the political mumbo-jumbo, this is my opinion.

I wouldn’t vote for Obama if he paid me.

Conservative convictions aside, his record of the last four years alone is enough to send me running to any other available option. He’s jacked up our national debt by six trillion dollars- (that is more money than you can imagine…) -and our unemployment rate, sketchy as that is, is a whole lot higher than it was when he came into office. (Sketchy because that only measures people who are on unemployment funds, not the people who have an underpaid part-time job and are searching for work, or who have given up.) People are desperate for jobs.

Obama’s economic record is a disaster. He bailed out the auto industry instead of letting them make a healthy recovery on their own through bankruptcy and then restarting, and he dumped millions of dollars into ‘green energy’ companies that tanked. Companies that happened to be on the list of his campaign supporters.

I’m not even going to talk about his foreign affairs record, which is atrocious. His lies about the Benghazi tragedy are sufficient proof. He’s made America look weak and incompetent to other nations, including the ones harboring terrorists who want to kill us.

Lastly, as a person, I find it hard to respect him. He is disrespectful and disdainful of our military and has shrunk it since he became president, and his behavior in the last three presidential debates has been nothing short of inexcusable. I only heard him once half-thank Mitt Romney for being there, while Romney thanked him politely each time, before and after. Obama interrupted Romney countless times and talked on way longer than his time limits allowed on almost every occasion, besides throwing mud and trying to disparage Romney’s record and plans every chance he got.

Because he had nothing good to say for himself, besides vague, false statements like “We promised we’d do _____, and that’s what we’ve done.” NOT. When you have nothing good to promise about yourself, you try to make the other choice look worse. Which is exactly what the Obama campaign is doing with the derogatory “Romnesia” speeches. How rude.

Okay. I could go on, but I’m tired of talking about Obama. Let’s talk about Governor Mitt Romney.

Admittedly, I wasn’t a big Romney fan when he was running for president four years ago. I heard a lot about how he was pretty liberal in his views, and not much different than most of the democrats.

Romney looks a lot more promising to me this year, when you take a few things into account.

So to come to the point, here are my reasons for voting for Mitt Romney.

1. He’s a very moral person.

Romney is Mormon, and while I do not agree with his doctrinal beliefs, he has stuck with them even though it wasn’t popular. He has a high moral standard and believes that saddling future generations with unpayable debt is morally wrong.

2. He’s got a great plan.

Governor Romney consistently mentions his five-point plan. 1. Achieve energy independence. 2. Improve trading by opening new markets and cracking down on China. 3. Improving schools and education, and better retraining programs for unemployed workers. 4. Cut the deficit, reduce the size of the government (Wow!), and get the national debt under control. 5. Championing small business.

He plans to repeal Obamacare, instead of letting the government dictate where you can go for treatment and why you have to spend money you might not have on health insurance. He would improve the schools by giving vouchers so that the people can make their own choice where the government money is going… they could send their children to a better private school or christian school instead of an awful public school, for the same amount of money. He’s mentioned that schooling and teaching is the responsibility of the parents – which is exactly what I believe. GO HOMESCHOOLING! 😀

Plainly, Romney has some excellent, well-thought-out plans for our nation.

3. He is an intelligent businessman.

Mitt Romney is wealthy because of one reason – he managed what God gave him in a responsible and well-planned way. This is an intelligent man – having graduated from Harvard University in the top third of his class. My dad told me he had an astonishingly good 3.7 grade average! For more information on his many business accomplishments, you can check out his Wikipedia page. His website might also be interesting for you to read.

This is a man who knows how to manage a business. He would be the best man to help out America’s small businesses. And wouldn’t it be great to have a capable hand on our country’s finances? When you know how business works, you have the ability to make it strong and healthy. Mitt Romney isn’t joking when he says he knows how to create jobs. I’d love to see him get a chance to do it.

Let’s all go out there on November 6 and VOTE! Our voices need to be heard. 😀

About Julia

I love color and sparkle. My God has created so many beautiful things in this world! Designing jewelry, capturing photos, dancing, singing, loving, laughing, creating, are the things I enjoy most. I write, crochet, and read, and find something lovely in every day.
This entry was posted in A Challenge, You Say? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Why I’m voting for Mitt Romney

  1. Rebekah Stanley says:

    Amazing post Julia! I completely agree with you and I’m happy to say I too, will be old enough to vote for Mitt Romney this year! Very tastefully done!
    Beka

  2. Lindsay says:

    Wow, I couldn’t agree with you more, Julia! I’m also old enough to vote, and I’m so happy that I’ll be able to cast my vote for Mitt Romney. Great post, girl! 🙂

  3. Kathryn says:

    Congratulations on a very persuasive post. I wasn’t really happy with either, but I might just do a little more research on the subject. (Not old enough to vote though). My Mom is voting for Gary Johnson, any chance you could give an opinion on him?

    • Julia says:

      Thank you, Kathryn! I have actually never heard of Gary Johnson, so I’d have to research him to give an opinion. However, I would rather vote for Romney, (who actually has a very good chance of defeating Obama) and help towards his victory, rather than vote for an independent candidate (by independent I mean not one of the main two options) and therefore have my vote not count towards making sure Obama doesn’t get four more years to decimate our country. Just my opinion. 🙂

  4. sis in Christ says:

    What do you think though about how Romney is pro choice?

    And really he might be sticking with his faith, but he’s still going to hell and Obama stuck pretty good with his religion as well.

    • Julia says:

      Hi there – thanks for commenting. 🙂

      Good question. For one thing… nobody is going to have exactly the same convictions as I do, and I am not expecting Romney to be ‘perfect’ or the Savior of the Nation. He’s only a man, and he can’t work miracles.
      But I think Romney is actually not in favor of abortion. He stated in the presidential debate that one of his goals is to make abortion illegal except in cases of abuse. (I do not agree with this, because I think all abortion is absolutely WRONG and each child deserves a chance at life, but it’s a step in the right direction.) I think having Romney for president might turn the tides back in the direction of being a pro-life nation again… and he’s a much better choice overall than Obama. I would not like to see the USA go through four more years of the Obama administration.

      As for your statement that Romney is going to hell – I must respectfully say that I think you should be careful about making statements like that. It is never too late for any person who is still breathing to decide they believe that Jesus Christ is Lord and commit their life to him. I think there are a lot of messed-up things in the Mormon faith, yes. But… Romney served as a pastor for ten years and has learned to care about people, among other things. He’s a good man.

      As a notice to any further commenters, I will try to answer any questions you have about my opinions as long as they are presented in a Christlike manner. 😀

  5. Hello,Julia! I wish I could vote for Romney soooooooo bad. I’m only 12,though so I won’t be able to vote next election either.Too bad. A lot of Christians won’t vote for Romney because he is a Mormon, but if you don’t vote for him, you’re just giving your vote to Obama.

    • Julia says:

      Hi! Nice to have you commenting on my blog! 🙂
      Exactly how I feel. If you do not vote for Romney, you are giving your vote (even silently) to Obama. Your voice doesn’t matter if you don’t vote, and other people who want four more years of Obama will be making their opinion heard over your silence.
      So let’s vote! 😀

  6. Julia says:

    I had another comment from someone urging me to reconsider voting for Romney because “he is 100% in favor of abortion”. No, he is not. I don’t think his standpoint on abortion is everything it should be, but it’s a lot better than Obama’s!

    I am voting for Mitt Romney because I DO NOT WANT four more years of the Obama administration, and Mitt Romney has the skills it takes to turn our country around in the right direction again. I’m not saying he’s going to fix *everything*, nobody could do that but God, but Romney would make a good president for our nation.

    NOT voting for Romney IS voting for Obama. Only one of these two men will be winning the presidential election, it is an either-or, and I am voting for Mitt Romney.

    I strongly urge those of you who believe that not voting for anybody is better than voting for somebody who isn’t 100% perfect to reconsider. Not voting for anybody is letting others with misguided viewpoints vote Obama back into office. Please do not do this – Vote!

Hi! Would you like to tell me what you thought?

